Program in Applied Public Health Sciences Faculty

 

Name Rank Email Areas of Interest
Babor, Thomas Professor babor@uchc.edu Screening, diagnosis, early intervention, and treatment evaluation of alcohol and drug problems, and related cultural factors
Bermudez-Millan, Angela Assistant  Professor bermudez-millan@uchc.edu Social determinants of health, specifically food insecurity
Brown, Stacey Associate Professor stbrown@uchc.edu Social stratification with a concentration on race, ethnicity, gender and class, adolescent health, multicultural health and culturally competent health care
Bruder, Mary Beth Professor bruder@uchc.edu Inclusion of children with special needs in early childhood and school settings.
Burleson, Joseph Associate Professor burleson@uchc.edu Alcohol and other substance abuse prevention and treatment, research design and analysis
Cavallari, Jennifer Associate Professor cavallari@uchc.edu Occupational and environmental epidemiology and exposure
Chapman, Audrey Professor achapman@uchc.edu Medical ethics
Gelbar, Nicholas Assistant Professor gelbar@uchc.edu Improving secondary transition outcomes for individuals with disabilities in particular individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder.
Grady, James Professor jgrady@uchc.edu Application of statistical model building for correlated data; analysis of correlated and longitudinal data; application of general estimating equations; applications of met-analysis to individual patient data
Gregorio, David Professor gregorio@uchc.edu Surveillance methods in cancer epidemiology; socioeconomic determinants of health
Ha, Toan Assistant Professor tha@uchc.edu Adolescent and youth sexual risky behaviors, social and behavioral aspects of HIV, risk networks for HIV infection and HIV-related substance use
Kuo, Chia-Ling Assistant Professor kuo@uchc.edu Statistical Genetics
Lazzarini, Zita Associate Professor lazzarini@uchc.edu Public health law, privacy, confidentiality, surrogate decision-making at end of life, HIV prevention (pregnant women and IV drug users), etc.
Lutz, Tara Assistant Professor lutz@uchc.edu Health Promotion
McRee, Bonnie Assistant Professor mcree@up.uchc.edu Health and Behavorial Services
Rhee, T. Greg Assistant Professor rhee@uchc.edu Health Sciences Research
Schensul, Stephen Professor schensul@uchc.edu AIDS risk in Mauritius and Sri Lanka; applied health research, community development and sexual risk
Stevens, Richard Professor bugs@uchc.edu Cancer epidemiology and the possible role of iron overload, “circadian disruption” and its potential role in breast cancer
Stewart, Kerry-Ann Assistant Professor kestewart@uchc.edu Health Disparities
Swede, Helen Associate Professor hswede@uchc.edu Cancer, biomarkers, disparities, molecular epidemiology
Tennen, Howard Professor tennen@uchc.edu Stress, coping and adaptation; day to day adaptation to chronic illness and daily patterns and correlates of alcohol use
Ungemack, Jane Assistant Professor ungemack@uchc.edu Health services research with a focus on substance abuse treatment and prevention
Wetstone, Scott Associate Professor wetstone@uchc.edu Educational methodologies

Emeriti

 

Name Rank Email Areas of Interest
Lewis, Judy Emerita lewisj@uchc.edu Women and childrens health, Global health

Affiliated

 

Name Rank Email Appointment Areas of Interest
Agresta, Thomas Professor agresta@uchc.edu School of Medicine Bioinformatics
Arteaga, Sarita Associate Clinical Professor arteaga@uchc.edu School of Dental Medicine Ceramics in dentistry
Aseltine, Robert Professor aseltine@uchc.edu School of Dental Medicine Mental health, risk prevention, evaluation research
Banach, David Assistant Professor dbanach@uchc.edu School of Medicine Infection Control
Britner, Preston Professor preston.britner@uconn.edu Human Development and Family Studies Child abuse prevention, family-focused programs
Buckley, Thomas Associate Clinical Professor thomas.e.buckley@uconn.edu School of Pharmacy Health disparities impact on access to care; medication adherence; medication therapy management outcomes
Copenhaver, Michael Professor michael.copenhaver@uconn.edu Allied Health Sciences Health education;adapting and evaluating evidence-based behavioral interventions that target high risk drug users.
Duffy, Valerie Professor valerie.duffy@uconn.edu Allied Health Sciences Taste and food selection; community-based nutrition interventions
Dugan, Alicia Assistant Professor adugan@uchc.edu School of Medicine Lifestyle practices that influence workers health; research to develop effective interventions and identifying factors that determine the successful communication, uptake and widespread use of evidence-based health interventions in real world settings
Erickson, Pamela Professor pamela.erikson@uconn.edu Anthropology Influence of cultural, social, economic, and political factors on health and disease in human populations; ethomedicine; reproduction and MCH
Fortinsky, Richard Professor fortinsky@uchc.edu School of Medicine Cost and quality of health and social services for older adults, health of family caregivers, Medicare and Medicaid policy research, health outcomes research in geriatrics and gerontology
Gordon, Sharon Dean sgordon@uchc.edu School of Dental Medicine Public Health Dentistry
Harkness, Sara Professor sara.harkness@uconn.edu Human Development and Family Studies Cultural structuring of human development and health
Kurz, Brenda Associate Professor brenda.kurz@uconn.edu School of Social Work Africa, Latino mental health, perinatal health, mental health in children
O’Brien, Grael Assistant Professor gobrien@uchc.edu School of Medicine Epidemiology and Child Health
Robison, Julie Associate Professor jrobison@uchc.edu School of Medicine Long-term care, family caregiving, dementia, depression
Schmeiser, Susan Professor susan.schmeiser@uconn.edu School of Law Family law, sexuality, gender and the law, health law, mental health law, and criminal law
Shaw, William Associate Professor wshaw@uchc.edu School of Medicine Program Evaluation
Singer, Merrill Professor merrill.singer@uconn.edu Anthropology Medical anthropology, health disparities, substance abuse, AIDS, violence, health and global warming, ethical issues in research
Wang, Xiaoyan Assistant Professor xiaowang@uchc.edu School of Medicine Bioinformatics
Wu, Helen (Zhao) Assistant Professor zwu@uchc.edu School of Medicine Substance abuse, use and dependence; health disparity, risk behaviors for STIs

Adjunct

Name Email Courses Taught
Ahmed, Karim ahmed@ncseglobal.org Environmental Impacts on Children’s Health
Brault, Marie marie.a.brault@gmail.com International Health
Lapidus, Gary glapidu@connecticutchildrens.org Injury and Violence Prevention
Mohamed‐Abouh, Fawatih mohamedabouh@uchc.edu Health Administration
Nevers, Joleen joleen.nevers@uconn.edu Health Education
Noel, Jonathan jnoel@uchc.edu Alcohol and Drug Policy Research
Paturzo, Deb paturzo@uchc.edu SAS Programming and Data Management
Wang, Honjgie wang@uchc.edu Public Health Informatics

Information in this directory may not be used for mailings to faculty or staff. Any solicitation of business, contributions, information, or other responses from individuals listed in this directory, by mail, phone, email, or other means is strictly forbidden.